What’s for Dinner? Week of January 12, 2014

weekof1.12.14

I hope those resolutions are serving us all well and that we haven’t given up just yet.  If you are trying better to eat right and save some money, you have found the right place.  I have created a dinner menu for the week of delicious, healthy options and by not eating out and shopping for all your ingredients in one big grocery trip for the week, you will even save some money too.  What could be better!  I don’t know about you, but I am a planner.  I love to plan anything (menus, parties, weekend plans, what I’m wearing tomorrow), but mostly I like to plan weekly dinner menus.  I’m here to help those who don’t necessarily like to plan out anything.  I’ve done most of the planning for you.  All you have to do is grab my Weekly Dinner Menu Grocery List, fill it in with all the ingredients you will need to make this week’s dinners (minus the ingredients you have on hand and plus any additional items needed for the week) and you are on your way.  Let me tell you what I have found helpful as well:  Print out a few grocery lists and store them in a folder.  Label the folder ‘Grocery.’  I’ve said before I am no extreme couponer and I stand by that, but sometimes I come across a coupon of an item I use or I know I will buy in the near future.  Whenever you do this, just clip the coupon and place it in your ‘Grocery’ folder.  Then, once a week, I pull out the folder, plan my dinners, make my list, search through any coupons I can use and head to the store.  The whole process, from pulling out my menu to planning dinners to making the list to going to the grocery store to coming home to unpacking all the items, doesn’t take me more than about 2 hours.  Not bad for a week’s worth of delicious dinners and money saved from not eating out.

So, as you can see below, there are dinners planned for Monday through Friday.  Usually, I tend to make a little extra and the leftovers become my lunch for the next day.  Simple and easy and no extra time required.  Or, you can even use the extras you have in another meal later in the week.  This is a huge time and money saver.  This week, that is done with the Turkey Chili.  On Tuesday, you make one big batch of the Turkey Chili and perhaps serve with cornbread, and then on Friday you take the leftover chili and throw together some Nachos.  It’s a great meal to throw together on a Friday after a long week.  The other days contain meals from my website as well, some that haven’t been used in a while.  Nothing is set in stone.  I encourage you to swamp out dinners for your family favorites or take a browse on this website to see what other delicious meals there are.  Either way, make a plan and enjoy the ease throughout the week of always knowing the answer to the question, “What’s for Dinner?”  Make the first bite count!

MENU

MondayChicken Kiev with Egg Noodles | Roasted Parmesan Broccoli  (Make the First Bite Count)

TuesdayTurkey Chili  (Make the First Bite Count)

WednesdayBowtie Pasta with Chicken and Spinach  (Make the First Bite Count)

ThursdayBeef and Broccoli  (Make the First Bite Count)

FridayNacho Night!  (Make the First Bite Count)

Leave a Reply

