What’s for Dinner? Week of September 1, 2013

weekof9.1.13

There was a little gap in the menus, but I’m back on track now.  School is about to start up and I have been prepping my lesson plans and seating charts for the upcoming year.  Getting back on a schedule will definitely be a good thing for me.  I don’t know about you, but I seem to get more accomplished throughout the day when I have a schedule of events to follow.  My husband and I are continuing our date night tradition and this past week we went to Miyako, a great BYOB sushi place in one of the beach towns near us.  We ordered gyoza (pork fried dumplings), spicy tuna rolls, Godzilla rolls, and my husband ordered 2 pieces of fresh tuna to start.  Everything was delicious and we have already planned to go back soon.  It’s a little sad to see summer slowly end but I am also excited about the fall with football games and pumpkins and cooler weather.  The menu this week reflects some great dishes that will certainly be making appearances again this fall.

When planning dinners, one great way to get ideas for the week is to link meals together.  What can you make one night where the leftovers can be used on another night?  That’s what I tried to do this week.   Whenever I make tomato sauce (or gravy as my grandmother used to call it) I always make extra.  The same goes for meatballs.  Must be the Italian in me to make plenty of extra food.  Anyway, I planned to have pasta and meatballs one night and then use the meatballs again for another meal, Meatball Sandwiches.  If you are ever having difficulty coming up with ideas for the entire week, see if you can make the leftovers from one night into something new and delicious another night.  Make the first bite count!

MENU

Sunday – Rigatoni and Meatballs in Tomato Sauce | Salad | Fresh Italian Bread

Monday – Chicken Marsala with Angel Hair Pasta | Roasted Parmesan Broccoli

Tuesday – Meatball Sandwiches | Salad

WednesdayDate Night!

ThursdayChicken Divan

FridayLeftovers

Leave a Reply

